Top page » What is the European Union (EU)?

About Fukuoka EU Association

What is the European Union (EU)?

 The European Union comprises 28 Member States, united in an effort to safeguard peace and promote economic and social progress, and incorporates three linked Communities. The Coal and Steel Community was the first to be set up (by the Treaty of Paris, 1951), followed by an Economic Community and an Atomic Energy Community (Treaties of Rome, 1957). Under the Single European Act (1986), the Communities finally dismantled all internal borders to establish a single market. The Treaty on European Union, signed in Maastricht in 1992, created a European Union combining a Community moving towards economic and monetary union with intergovernmental cooperation in certain areas. During the 1990s it became increasingly easy for people to move around in Europe, as passport and customs checks were abolished at most of the EU's internal borders. One consequence is greater mobility for EU citizens. A common currency, the euro, was adopted by 12 Member States on 1 January, 2002. Slovenia became the 13th member of the eurozone on 1 January, 2007, Cyprus and Malta the 14th and 15th on 2008, Slovakia in 2009, and Estonia adopted the euro on 1January 2011.
 The Union is managed by the following institutions: a democratically elected Parliament, a Council representing the Member States and composed of government ministers, a European Council of Heads of State or Government, a Commission which acts as guardian of the Treaties and has the power to initiate and implement legislation, a Court of justice which ensures that Community law is observed and a Court of Auditors which monitors the financial management of the Union. In addition, there are a number of advisory bodies, which represent economic, social and regional interests. The European Investment Bank was set up to facilitate the financing of projects, which contribute to the balanced development of the Union.

(Source: The Delegation of the European Union to Japan)

Member States

Member States of the European Union;
Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Estonia, Greece, Spain, France, Ireland, Italy, Cyprus, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Hungary, Netherlands, Austria, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Finland, Sweden, United Kingdom, Croatia

As of July, 2013

Delegation of the European Union to Japan

 The Delegation of the European Union to Japan is one of 130 external delegations of the European Union and it represents the European Union in Japan. The Delegation enjoys the full status of a diplomatic mission in the sense of the Convention of Vienna of 18 April 1961 on diplomatic relations and is represented by the Head of Delegation.

Please have a look at the Delegation of the European Union to Japan website, which has more detailed information on various EU topics.